Minnesota Residential Building Contractor License

This exam is required to be passed to obtain your State license. We stock all reference books in our online store. Shipping is always fast and affordable.

Minnesota Residential Building Contractor License
Steps to Success

1. Purchase Books and References.
2. Schedule and pass your State Exams.
3. Submit your application, licensing fee, and proof of insurance to the State.

Features and Benefits:
Rapid Shipping
Sales & Support
Best Pricing
Hassle-Free Returns



About this License

A residential building contractor is defined as a person (or company) in the business of contracting or offering to contract with an owner to build residential real estate by providing two or more special skills. A residential building contractor also may contract or offer to contract with an owner to improve existing residential real estate.

Requirements to Obtaining your License

All residential building contractors and residential remodelers who contract with an owner to construct or improve dwellings for habitation by one to four families (including detached garages) and perform two or more special skills must be licensed.

  • $100,000 in general liability insurance is required.
  • Workmen's compensation insurance is also required if you have any employees.

Exam Review, Training, Education

As of this time, we do not have a seminar or study guide available. Please continue to check back with us as we are always developing new programs.

Books and References for the Exam

The following references are recommended to study prior to the exam. You are not permitted to bring these references with you. They will be provided.

  • 2006 International Residential Code

Exam Details

  • Two exam parts are required: business and law and the trade.
  • Total of 110 questions and a time limit of 4 hours.
  • 70% is required to pass.
  • The exam fee is $50.
  • The State gives the exam.

Continuing Education

The qualifying person of a licensed residential contractor company must provide proof of completion of 14 hours every 2 years.

Applying to Get Your License

To apply for a license, please contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry at 651-284-5065.

Fees:

  • If you license is for jobs that are less than $1,000,000, the license fee is $100 and the recovery fund fee is $160.
  • If you license is for jobs that are from $1,000,000 to $5,000,000, the license fee is $100 and the recovery fund fee is $210.
  • If you license is for jobs that are greater than $5,000,000, the license fee is $100 and the recovery fund fee is $260.

Reciprocity Agreement

There are no reciprocal agreements for this license as of this time.